Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Visitor

Pharmacy technician role in codes

Our Emergency Department has requested help in restocking code carts quickly after code completion.  I suggested that haveing a tech at each code to act as recorder would ensure good documentation as well as help pharmacy in accurately knowing what to replace.  Our techs are not anxious to perform this task.  Is anybody using pharmacy technicians to help out in codes?

Highlighted
Trusted Contributor

Re: Pharmacy technician role in codes

@nmc1 - When I worked as a pharmacy technician in a hospital, the technicians did help out with codes. We kept two adult "back-up" code carts and 1 pediatric back-up code cart in the pharmacy at all times. When there was a code, the technician would go to the floor/area of the code and retrieve the code cart that was just used and in exchange leave one of the already prepared back-ups.

Upon arriving back in the pharmacy, the used code cart was restocked and then locked, so that it would be a ready back-up for the next code cart that needed to be replaced. I certainly didn't mind doing these, but everyone is different.

Hope this helps!

**** If you find this post helpful, please mark it as a solution ****
Occasional Advisor

At the hospital where I work, we keep a back-up code cart ready to go in the pharmacy.  As soon as a code is called, the tech takes the back-up cart to the nursing area where it is needed.  That way, it is already there and can be used as necessary.  When the code is over, we then bring the used cart back to pharmacy, re-stock it, and it becomes our back-up cart for the next code.

Occasional Visitor