Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Occasional Contributor

Camera's in IV room

I have recently had video camers installed in my IV room, to comply with State Board requirements that tecnicians must be under the supervision of a pharmacist.

The questions I have:  Does anyone have policies that deal with cameras in the IV room?  Are there legal questions about doing this that people have run up against?  Can one record?  Does the staff have to sign off allowing?

Advisor

Re: Camera's in IV room

Wow!  That is certainly one of more stringent BOP requirements that I have heard of in decades of practice.  I am not a lawyer, so I'll let others address the legality of the monitoring, but it would seem to me that it would be within the bounds of an employer's right.

My question to you is, really how much "monitoring" can your pharmacists do of the technicians' work via a small TV monitor?  Do you have the cameras doing close-ups of their hands and can your really see anything but larger movements of bodies around the room?  It sounds like an incredible waste of time and resources (not your fault, I know).  Surely some routine documented walk-throughs by a pharmacist would accomplish the same thing!

Sounds to me like your BOP is over-the-top on this one.  Smiley Frustrated

who
Occasional Visitor

We have the computer system DoseEdge that has a still camera in the hood.   it prompts the technician to scans  the products and take the pictures.  The  pharmacists can verify products after viewing tha pictures.   etc.

Occasional Visitor